24 South Dakota Trooper Youth Academy graduates | Local News

Pierre, SD – Some 24 young people from across South Dakota celebrated their graduation from the South Dakota Highway Patrol / American Legion of South Dakota Youth Trooper Academy with their friends and family on Friday. The South Dakota State Commander of the American Legion, Gary Wolkow, had nothing but praise for the recruits.

Public Safety Secretary Craig Price said the young people participating in the program are improving on what they have already achieved …

Private Josh De Wild, who was on staff at the Academy, said the recruits gave him confidence in the next generation.

A member of the recruit class, much like a graduate soldier class, presented a response at the ceremony. This was given by Oliviyah Thronton from Groton…

Redfield rookie Cameron Schmidt won the Top Gun Rifle award while Pierre’s Cole Peterson won the Top Gun award. Scholarships were awarded to Faith Maunu of Pierre and Wyatt Anderson of Willow Lake. Local recruits to the class included Cole Peterson, Faith Maunu and Addison Westergren from Pierre and Andruw Fredericksen from Fort Pierre

Here are the new members of the Youth Trooper Trooper Academy and their respective cities:

Wyatt Anderson: Willow Lake

Riley Bock: Rapid City

Trever Donbronski: Deubrook

Jasmine Field: Huron

Brenden Feldhaus: Marion

Riley Folkers: Yankton

Ashton Gabriel: Madison

Marcos Garcia: Groton

Jaden Koll Sioux Falls

Nyomi Mahrt: Plankinton

Darin McGaugh: Frédéric

Kolby Merkel: Clark

Mitchell Miller: Rapid City

Galatea Pauling: Sturgis

Cameron Schmidt: Redfield

Shelby Swets: Spearfish

Oliviayah Thornton: Groton

Samantha Torguson: Iroquois

Porter Walz: Wessington Springs

Noah Weishaar: New Underwood