Accusations of favoritism after the reconstitution of the national executive of the Youth Congress

New Delhi: The recent reshuffle of the National Executive of the Indian Youth Congress (IYC) has been met with controversy, with many outgoing board members alleging that IYC President Srinivas BV and the AICC in charge of the ‘IYC Krishna Allavuru have hosted their favorites in violating established norms and procedures for nominations.

Talk to Thread, an outgoing member of the national executive team, who did not want to be named, said the last national executive was abruptly disbanded despite being one of the most successful teams. “The outgoing team was elected in March 2020 and was to serve a three-year term. After two and a half years, a new team was suddenly formed. None of us know why.

They also allege that some members included in the reconstituted national executive were not eligible for public office.

At least three new IYC secretaries – Sravan Rao, Mamta Nagireddy and Pinky Mudgal – are over the age of 35, the prescribed age limit for joining the IYC National Committee. At least two new general secretaries – Purna Chandra Padhi (37) and Rushikesh Shelke (40 years and two months) – were also older than the upper age to serve on the national committee, the outgoing member said.

A person over the age of 35 cannot enter the national IYC committee. At the same time, one cannot be 40 years old or more and remain a member of a national committee.

Outgoing members who spoke to Thread also alleged that at least three new secretaries are currently suspended or have been expelled due to different disciplinary actions taken against them previously. A CCP member from Uttar Pradesh – Jitendra Kumar Tiwari, against whom disciplinary proceedings were initiated before being suspended – has been appointed as the new secretary. Similarly, Jabalpur-based Pinki Mudgal – whose main party membership was suspended for six years after she was found to be making anti-Congress remarks – was also welcomed into the national committee. Expelled NSUI member Vandana Ben has been named one of the new IYC Secretaries.

Members of the last National Executive said that the interview committee which selected the new team was formed at the behest of Srinivas and Krishna Allavuru disregarding established standards. “The interview panel included the IYC President, the IYC official and senior Congress leaders in general. But whoever selected the new National Committee had only men considered to be associates of Srinivas “said the departing member.

The interview panel included Purnachandra Padhi, the appointed President of Chhattisgarh Pradesh Youth Congress (PYC); Vikrant Bhuria, Chairman of Madhya Pradesh State PYC; Rahul Rao, the media chief who is not part of the national committee; Amarpreet Lalli, who was put in charge of Himachal Pradesh although he is no longer on the national committee; and Rushikesh Shelke, a company-level party worker who was over 40 when he conducted the interviews.

“Amazingly, one of the investigators, Padhi, was selected to be part of the national committee,” the outgoing member said.

The activities of the IYC under the leadership of Srinivas have received constant attention over the past two years, especially as they brought relief during the 2020 COVID-19 lockdown and the devastating second wave in May. 2021. Therefore, the allegations of patronage against the IYC chairman a few weeks after the party’s Chintan Shivir, in which the party resolved to adopt various organizational reforms at all levels, risk tarnishing its reputation.

Srinivas BV. Photo: PTI

The outgoing members also said that some of the new bureau members had been directly integrated into the national committee without having played an elected representative role in the PYC units, in direct violation of the resolution adopted by the Goa national executive in 2021 Moreover, the outgoing members were not accommodated in either the All India Congress Committee or the Pradesh Congress Committees as has been the norm, they said.

“About 180 people were interviewed through two rounds for the national committee. However, some who did not pass the interview were also selected, while those who were expelled were not given any reasons for their expulsion” , said an outgoing member of the IYC national executive.

The ousted members claimed that under Srinivas’ leadership, Shelke, who is over 40, was retained while many others were fired due to their age. Likewise, they said that many of those who did not run at the district or assembly level for the IYC were directly appointed as general secretaries of the PYCs or were elevated to the IYC without any performance appraisal. .

“One of these nominations stands out. If you recall, two men were caught by the [Delhi] police when transporting alcohol during lockdown. One of them, Shravan Rao, who is over 35, was included in the national committee,” they said.

The entire selection process preceded the IYC Dharmashala National Executive which took place from June 7-9, 2022. “Not everyone who was dismissed was called to the conference, although they continued to hold positions at the time. They had no information from the IYC president about their ousting,” one ousted member said.

“The problem is that most of the selections have been made haphazardly using and selectively abusing standards and procedures. For example, some existing secretaries who are over 40 continue to hold their positions, while others were turned down despite being eligible. Likewise, unelected members have been appointed as IYC Secretaries,” one outgoing member said. Thread.

This arbitrary selection only reflects how the IYC has operated over the past few years, the youth leader said. “While a new national committee was reconstituted before the end of the term of the old committee, there are many PYCs where elections have been pending for more than two years and are led by appointed officials – all of whom are considered as close associates of Srinivas or Allavuru,” they alleged.

Multiple calls per Thread to IYC President Srinivas BV, AICC Head Krishna Allavuru and AICC General Secretary (Organization) KC Venugopal were denied. Separate text messages asking for their response to the allegations were also sent to them. Allavuru only said that the issue should be discussed with the IYC President.

This story will be updated if IYC leaders respond.