City inducts LaGrange Youth Council 2021-2022 – LaGrange Daily News

The Town of LaGrange inducted the new members of the 2021-2022 LaGrange Youth Council at the LaGrange Town Council meeting on Tuesday.

New members received their LaGrange Youth Council pins from the mayor’s hands and were sworn in before the mayor and council. Before the meeting, the youth council attended its first meeting and organized a meeting and ice cream after the meeting with the whole youth council, the mayor and the city council.

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory council made up of 12 junior and 12 high school students from area high schools. Local youth provide advice and guidance to the local governing body.

The Youth Council gives local LaGrange youth a more formal role in the local decision-making process offering real-world experiences with elected bodies.

Twenty-four students from LaGrange High, Troup High, LaGrange Academy, Heard County High and Lafayette Christian School are participating in the LaGrange Youth Council for the 2021-2022 school year. Members include Bobby Taylor, Mollie Olinger, Jack Baker, Luke Patton, Henry Huberdeau, Miller DeVane, Andy Patton, William Pitts, Render McLeod, Devin Dents, Trey Cook, Milly Criswell, Bryce Bailey, Skylar Allen, Riley Whitlow, Rylie Hale , Mary Maddox Westmoreland, Sydney Edelson, Khamani Philpotts, Simone Acosta, Ayaka Kimura, J’Arthur Dunn, Addie Eiland, Katy Beth Bedingfield, Kate Asbell, Tripp Hollstrom, Ka’Various Perry.

Members will be expected to participate in future city council meetings and the city’s “Leave LaGrange Better Than We Found” campaign.

They will also be required to work on community issues that they collectively vote for as important to the community.