Kannapolis Youth Council Receives State Charter | Local News


The Kannapolis Youth Council received a state charter from the North Carolina Department of Administration. They are now one of 24 licensed youth councils in North Carolina. The Kannapolis Youth Council was established by the Kannapolis City Council in late 2020 and members were appointed in 2021.

To achieve state certification, the youth council completed a number of civic and social projects in 2021, including holding monthly meetings, participating in the veteran food drive, organizing blood drives, buying Christmas gifts for other young people in need and working town events such as the tree. lighting ceremony. The group also learned about Kannapolis local government and city departments such as administration, fire, police, and public works.

As a state-recognized youth council, the group will now be able to participate in state youth government learning experiences throughout the school year.

The City Council’s goal for the Youth Council is to create opportunities for students to engage in leadership development, provide high school students with ways to volunteer, develop leadership skills, develop high standards of behavior, hone communication skills, practice teamwork and have a line of communication with adult leadership in the city’s decision-making process. The formation of the Youth Council is the result of conversations between Council members and local high school students.

People also read…

The Youth Council is made up of high school students who reside in Kannapolis and represent the geographic and educational diversity of the city. Participants are drawn from the city’s two public high schools, students living in the city but attending other public high schools, home-schooled students, charter schools, and private high schools.

Brock Morgan, a student at AL Brown, and Allison Gordon, a student at Northwest Cabarrus High School, served as co-chairs of the group. Other inaugural members include: Ally Zendejas, Amber Barnes, Ashley Burris, Carly Stegall, Caroline Barlow, Celeste Martinez, Courtney Graham, Destiny Davis, Gabe Perry, Joseph Levy, Kevin Lo, Lillian Watkins, Lissette Gutierrez Cruz, Marin Powell, Nevaeh Williams, Niya Kerr, Samantha Holman, Shriya Agarwal, Trent Thompson and Yesenia Hubbard.