Punjab poll 2022: Youth Congress could get bigger share of tickets: The Tribune India

Tribune press service

Rajmeet Singh

Chandigarh, January 13

With the highly anticipated first list of about 70 Congress candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections to be released on the occasion of Makar Sankranti on Friday, all eyes are on candidates likely to be selected from the youth quota.

Chairman of the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC), Navjot Singh Sidhu, who has already announced that young people will be one and a half times more represented this time than in the

recent elections to the Assembly and that he will honor merit, defended a number of young leaders

who have worked for a long time in the organization.

The President of the Indian Youth Congress, Srinivas BV, had recently called for at least 10% seats for young people. No less than 12 young leaders associated with the IYC applied for the party ticket. In the 2017 assembly elections, the party fielded 11 members of the IYC state unit.

Leading the charge, Barinder Dhillon, president of the Punjab Youth Congress, is a favorite in the Ropar segment, followed by Amarpre and Singh Lally of Garhshankar. Lally is the General Secretary of the IYC and the former leader of the Punjab Youth Congress. He was one of the favorites for the parliamentary seat of Anandpur Sahib in the 2019 general election.

General Secretary of the Punjab Youth Congress, Amit Bawa Saini is seeking a ticket from Dera Bassi, in addition to Daman Bajwa from Sunam and Gurjot Dhindsa from Amargarh.

Regarding the number of women represented, sources in Congress said that on the model of Uttar Pradesh, where the party gave 40% of seats to women candidates, the Punjab Congress wants to increase their number here this time. . Citing the ability to win and merit, however, the leaders of the Congress of States remain vague on the subject.

12 eager to challenge

No less than 12 young leaders associated with the Indian Youth Congress (IYC) applied for a ticket this time. They include Barinder Dhillon (of Ropar), Amarpreet Singh Lally (Garhshankar), Amit Bawa Saini (Dera Bassi), Daman Bajwa (Sunam) and Gurjot Dhindsa (Amargarh)