Thirteen students inducted into the Tweed Youth Council – The Echo

Tweed Shire Youth Council – Dawn Cosham, Montana Markland, Tom Nguyen, Julia Wilder-Donvito, Oska Proietto, Abby Pirotta, Madison Bambach, Daniel Green, Logan Wright and Daniel Daley. Photo provided.

The first Tweed Shire Youth Council was established in 2016 after a commitment to establish a Youth Council to act as an advisory committee and answer questions relevant to youth ages 12 to 24 in the Strategy and Action Plan. youth (2013-2017).

With meetings held four times a year, the hope is that a Youth Council will expose the Council to youth optimism and innovative ideas. By establishing a Youth Council program, the Council hopes to develop better relationships with the youth of Tweed, fostering mutual respect and providing opportunities to contribute to civic life in a constructive and meaningful way.

Tweed Shire Youth Council President Montana Markland and Vice President Logan Wright. Photo provided.

Representing seven different schools, the 13 Youth Council members from Years 10 and 11 were welcomed into their roles by Tweed Cr Mayor Chris Cherry and Council Executive Director Troy Green.

The president-elect is Montana Markland of Pacific Coast Christian School and the vice-president is Logan Wright of Murwillumbah High School.

Led by the Council’s Community Development Unit, the Tweed Shire Youth Council wants young people to feel more connected to where they live and to be involved in the planning and implementation of youth-related decisions made by the youth council. Advice.

Cr Chris Cherry said it was great to see so many young people involved in Tweed. “We hope to hear more from members of the Tweed Shire Youth Council who will be able to bring concerns, ideas and initiatives directly to the Council for consideration. “

Weed Shire Youth Council with Cr Ron Cooper, TSC Executive Director Troy Green and Mayor Cr Chris Cherry. Photo provided.

The members of the Tweed Shire 2021 Youth Council are:

• Oska Proietto and Imogen Pain – Banora Point High School

• Abby Pirotta and Daniel Green – Lindisfarne Anglican Grammar School

• Daniel Daley and Logan Wright – Murwillumbah High School

• Montana Markland – Pacific Coast Christian School

• Dawn Cosham and Tom Nguyen – St Joseph’s College Banora Point

• Madison Bambach and Julia Wilder-Donvito – Wollumbin High School, and

• Rykah Ross and Jorja Campbell – Tweed River High School.

The next Tweed Shire Youth Council meeting will be held in the boardroom of the Murwillumbah Civic and Cultural Center on Tuesday, March 23, 2021.

For more information, visit