Valparaiso Sworn in to Mayor’s Youth Council – NWILife

The city of Valparaiso has announced the candidates for the 2022-2023 Mayor’s Youth Council and will be sworn in to the new class at the city council meeting on August 22, at Valparaiso City Hall.

“We are delighted to welcome our second group of students to the Mayor’s Youth Council. The Council is an opportunity for students to learn about municipal government, develop leadership skills and encourage civic engagement,” said Mayor Matt Murphy during the presentation of the new Council. “We welcome this new Council and thank them for their interest in their community.

The Mayor’s Youth Council was introduced last year with the support of Valparaiso High School, inviting 11th graders to apply to participate. The Council meets monthly, learning from elected and elected officials, participating in volunteer opportunities and cultivating leadership skills, beginning with a youth retreat on August 27.

The Mayor’s first Youth Council ended its year in May 2022, culminating in a fundraiser he created to benefit Valpo Parks.

“I look forward to getting to know this new Youth Council. Last year, we learned a lot from our Board members and incorporated their ideas into our plans for this year. I think this Council is an excellent investment of time. I know I myself have learned a lot from seeing other leaders in action and seeing the impact each of us can have,” Murphy said before being sworn into the Youth Council.

The Mayor’s Youth Council of the City of Valparaiso, 2022-2023 includes:

Caroline Boxum
Noelle Gapinski
Gabrielle Green
Nikolaos Hambesis
Ella Harris
Lauren King
Alexander Laverman
Marie Magneti
Miles O’Shea
Alexandra Patton
Journi Powell
Cassidy Reberg
Ava Smrzlick
Elliot Strauss
Sophie Venit
Vice Logan

To learn more about the Mayor’s Youth Council, visit the Mayor’s page on